Updated: 05/19/2017 by Computer Hope
Deleting messages, photos, or videos on Facebook, or an entire Facebook account is a permanent process. Once the message, photos, video, or an account is deleted, there is no way they can be recovered. Facebook does not store backup copies of Facebook content or accounts for later retrieval.
Before deleting a message, photo, or video on Facebook, or a Facebook account, you must be sure you will not need to access it in the future. Once it is gone, it is gone for good.
Tip: We recommend that you archive your Facebook messages instead of deleting them. By archiving the messages, you can retrieve and view them in the future.
Tip: Photos and videos on Facebook can be stored in albums to organize them, instead of deleting them. By placing them in an album, you can find and view them later.
Tip: Instead of deleting a Facebook account, you can deactivate the Facebook account, allowing you to re-activate it again in the future.